The Daily Grind or How to Find Motivation

DSC_0132Welcome to my life. Yesterday was easy, but today is hard. It’s easy to get motivated for Day 1, but Day 2, Day 3, Day 4 – well they’re a different story. That is exactly why I’m doing this. It’s easy for me to start things – but not really start. It’s easy for me to dream things, to come up with ideas, to make a plan – but not stick with it. I know this is not a problem unique to me. I know this is why some people make it and some people don’t. And so I’m forcing myself to do this even if some days are shit. If nothing else I need to prove to myself that I can follow through and that I can do the work and that I can actually go for something.

It is so easy to be motivated when things are going well. I see that in life, and especially in research – when the results are coming in and they’re good I want more. When nothing works I want to go home. Today, tomorrow, and the day after that are about staying when the motivation is gone. Working through it when nothing works. Not taking time off when I’m not into it. Just doing something.

Leave a Reply

