Embracing Failure. And Why You Should Too.

DSC_0065.jpg

I’ve never really failed at anything.

I mean, of course I’ve failed at various times in my life, but I’ve never really failed at anything. Now before I start to sound like a real asshole I’ll clarify – I’ve never really failed because I’ve never really tried.

I’ve started various things in my life and had various goals, but whenever I’ve had a ‘micro-fail’ (i.e. I didn’t keep up with it it or felt it wasn’t going anywhere after a few months) I just stop. I don’t let myself get to the point where I put everything into it because THAT is when actual failure becomes a possibility.

But here’s the thing – the outcome is EXACTLY THE SAME. If my goal was to write more and I make some progress but eventually fall off the wagon and never get back to it, I actually have LESS than if I put everything into it and it turns out that I’m terrible at it because at least I’ve learned something I the latter situation.

So my goal is to be ok with the micro-failures and to avoid letting them hold me back.

I’d rather have a real failure.


Do you give up when you have micro-failures in life? How do you overcome real failure?

Leave a Reply

